main content starts hereBoard of Education

Local control of education through elected school boards is an American tradition that stems back to the original 13 colonies. While school boards are small and local, they represent one of the most important commitments citizens can make to their community — overseeing the education of its youth. Mohonasen’s seven school board members are elected to serve three-year, unpaid terms. The Board of Education election is held annually on the third Tuesday of May, alongside the district’s annual budget vote.

The New York State School Boards Association has created this webpage entitled The School Board Member Experience to answer questions of new and potential school board members. Check it out!

Mohonasen’s Board of Education Members

Lisa Gaglioti, President
Term expires June 30, 2020
lgaglioti@mohonasen.org

Pamela Young, Vice President
Term expires June 30, 2021
pyoung@mohonasen.org

Wade Abbott
Term expires June 30, 2021
wabbott@mohonasen.org

Deborah Escobar
Term expires June 30, 2019
descobar@mohonasen.org

Stacy MacTurk
Term expires June 30, 2020
smacturk@mohonasen.org

Robert Piccirillo
Term expires June 30, 2019
bpiccirillo@mohonasen.org

Patrick Ryan
Term expires June 30, 2021
pryan@mohonasen.org

Need directions to the Farnsworth Technology Center?

Most Board of Education meetings are held in the Farnsworth Technology Center in Mohonasen High School. This room is also sometimes called the “LGI” (short for Large Group Instruction hall). From the main lobby of the high school, turn RIGHT and proceed down the hall. At the library lobby take a LEFT and proceed down that hall. At the end of the hall take a RIGHT after the cafeteria (Cafe “B”) and the Farnsworth Technology Center will be on your left.