main content starts hereMohonasen budget approved, 2 BOE candidates elected

| May 21, 2019

Mohonasen residents approved the district’s 2019-20 school budget with 771 yes votes and 360 no votes, a margin of 68 percent.

Voters also approved a proposition to purchase four full-size, 72-passenger buses and two 33-passenger buses. A total of 818 voted in favor and 308 voted against, a margin of 72 percent.

Residents elected incumbent Deborah Escobar (667 votes) and Chad McFarland (720 votes), who had previously served on the Board of Education. Candidates ran at-large and were elected to unpaid, three-year terms that begin on July 1.

“This was a challenging budget to develop,” said Superintendent Shannon Shine. “Throughout the process, we listened to the community. Despite difficult decisions to reduce expenditures through staffing reductions, we were able to preserve all programs for students.  The community demonstrated that they have been heard and the results are evident tonight. We appreciate everyone who came out to vote today and are encouraged by the community’s continued support of our schools.”

Jenna Coutant-Walker got 349 votes. Tia Tocco got 298 votes.