main content starts hereMHS recognized with No Place for Hate award

| May 26, 2020

For the third year in a row, Mohonasen High School has been recognized with the Anti-Defamation League’s No Place For Hate Gold Star School Award for the 2019-2020 school year.

Mohonasen HS designated a No Place For Hate school.

“Thank you for your hard work throughout the year,” said Kieran Cooper, assistant education director for the New York/New Jersey region. “You’ve wowed us with your strength, flexibility, dedication, and commitment to your students.”

During distance learning, MHS was one of a few No Place For Hate schools to take programming online, with both the Day of Silence and a Civil Rights Assembly.

The following people have been a part of the school’s committee and have worked to provide programming focused on equity and social justice issues:

  • Faculty and staff: Mrs. Sparlin, Mr. Stranahan, Mrs. Perry, Mrs. Halliday, Mr. Veeder, Mrs. Wallace, Mr. Reluzco, Mrs. Kondenar, Mrs. Derochie, Mrs. Pierson, Mrs. Pacheco, Mrs. Mitchell and Ms. Schopf;
  • Students: Ashley Peretta, Emma Phillips, Victoria Spadaro, Victoria Relyea, Shannon Reilly, Abigail Black, Jessie Mathis, Anna Phan, and the entire MHS Media Arts Crew; and
  • Community members: Holly & Gary Spadaro, and Lisa Jordan.

“It is an honor & privilege to work with so many compassionate people who care about equity and social justice issues in our school community,” said Diane Blinn, committee adviser. “You are all making a significant difference in the climate of our school and your commitment and dedication to MHS students makes me #MohonProud!”