main content starts hereNext Generation Learning Standards

A Parent’s Guide to the New York State Next Generation ELA & Math Learning Standards

What are the Next Generation Learning Standards?

The Next Generation Learning Standards are the educational goals for all of New York State’s students from prekindergarten through grade 12 in English Language Arts and Mathematics.

Why were the standards revised?

The standards were revised to ensure they are appropriate for students’ grade levels and reflect what students should know and be able to do in math and ELA.

When will the Next Generation Standards be implemented?

Full implementation of the NYS Next Generation Learning Standards begins during the 2020-2021 school year for prekindergarten through grade 8.

How will the standards be assessed?

While teachers assess standards daily in their classrooms, students will also be assessed on the Next Generation Learning Standards beginning in spring of 2021 on the Grades 3-8 New York State ELA and Mathematics Assessments.

How can I learn more?

You can learn more about the Next Generation ELA and Mathematics Learning Standards by talking to your child’s teacher.

Standards and My Child’s Classroom Learning

Student learning is best supported when goals are well defined. The model below shows how key parts of learning work together. The central focus, student learning, depends on curriculum, instruction, and assessment. The learning standards represent the overall knowledge and skills students need to learn by the end of each school year.

Standards: “What do we need to learn?”

Standards are:

  • Goals for New York State students
  • Organized by subjects and grade levels
  • The learning intended to be accomplished by the end of a specific school year
  • Approved by the New York State Board of Regents

Example of a Kindergarten Math Standard: Duplicate and extend simple patterns using concrete objects. Ex: Colored blocks or tiles.

Curriculum: “What are we learning?”

Curriculum is:

  • The content, concepts, and skills students will learn to enable them to meet the standards
  • Determined by individual school districts

Example: locally developed units of study, such as a unit on poetry or multiplication of two-digit numbers.

Instruction: “How are we learning?”

Instruction is:

  • The approaches and strategies an educator chooses to teach the curriculum
  • Based on the needs of students
  • Determined by classroom teachers and districts

Example: small group instruction or cooperative learning

Assessment: “What have we learned?” “What should we do next?”


  • Are processes used to learn about student progress guide and inform teaching
  • Are determined by local districts and/or teachers, as well as New York State
    • New York State administers:
      • ELA and Mathematics Assessments in Grades 3-8
      • Science Assessments in Grades 4 & 8
      • Regents Examinations
      • English as a Second Language Achievement Test (NYSESLAT)
      • Alternate Assessment (NYSAA)

Example: classroom observation of a student recognizing patterns or analyzing a student’s classroom writing sample